Cant even play Ultimate epic battle simulator!

HOME Forums Tech PC Talk Cant even play Ultimate epic battle simulator!

This topic contains 41 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Marc Berry 8 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #12065

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    Hi guys

    i just downloaded UEBS for my sons and thought i wouldnt have an issue playing it. however it constantly crashed with the main error saying something about low memory.  then by using windowed, 720p mode and setting all quality settings to Low it played one battle. the second battle crashed the whole computer so i could hear sound but the monitor led went amber indicating no signal.

    the cpu should be fine, i7-2600k at 4ghz

    memory is ‘only’ 8gb, could this be the issue? this was overkill last time i was looking at upgrades a few years back

    my ssd is only, i think, 60gb and only has a couple of gig spare and i am constantly trying to free up space

    the GPU is a radeon 5700.

    motherboard is asus p8p67 i think without opening up the case

    i tried upping the page file to 4096 but not sure this has really helped.

    so,

    1) any ideas if i can get it running with this set up?

    2) if i have to upgrade anything, what would have the most chance of helping?

    3) any other thoughts or suggestions?

    cheers all

    0
    0
    #12066

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    Have a look here https://steamcommunity.com/app/616560/discussions/0/135514507319729706/ Your old graphics card isn’t going to help either.

    Things have moved on with CPUs too. An i7-2600 is about comparable to a Skylake i3, especially in games https://www.anandtech.com/bench/product/287?vs=1682

    Look here http://tinyurl.com/yaflnn9a your system is at or below the minimum specs.

    Increasing the page file size will only make the shortage of disk space worse.

    You’ve reached the limits of Sandybridge I feel. Time for a new one.

    0
    0
    #12067

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    Have a look here https://steamcommunity.com/app/616560/discussions/0/135514507319729706/ Your old graphics card isn’t going to help either. Things have moved on with CPUs too. An i7-2600 is about comparable to a Skylake i3, especially in games https://www.anandtech.com/bench/product/287?vs=1682 Look here http://tinyurl.com/yaflnn9a your system is at or below the minimum specs. Increasing the page file size will only make the shortage of disk space worse. You’ve reached the limits of Sandybridge I feel. Time for a new one.

    cheers dave, thats what i was just finding as i have been googling for a while tonight about it.

    i am loathe to replace all the parts i realize are at the low end, i.e. gpu, memory, ssd as i agree i am now coming up to the time for a full upgrade.

    so, if i cant persuade the wife for a full upgrade, would a larger ssd help? it is the cheapest upgrade, is the closest to being below the minimum standards and should be a fairly straight swap after cloning, or…..

    what full upgrade to go for? we have limited space now where the pc is so i have started to detest the big bulky tower unit and was thinking of a desktop replacement laptop. with the above in mind, any suggestions that wouldnt break the bank but would have reasonable specs? keep in mind that UEBS is about the max gaming stress i think i will be throwing at it (famous last words)

    cheers

    EDIT… i just found large laptops are expensive and dont have the best specs unless spending tons. so, any slim, ideally pre-built towers i could go for?

    • This reply was modified 8 months, 3 weeks ago by Marc Berry.
    0
    0
    #12075

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    A larger SSD would help your system in general but won’t do much for UEBS.

    UEBS looks like it’s quite a system hog. Apparently each figure has it’s own shadow rendered! I would go with the recommended specs here http://tinyurl.com/yaflnn9a which is a top end i5 or Ryzen 100X. Both are £210+ and the graphics card would be the same price. Yiu can’t do this one on the cheap.

    It’s the old enemy – heat. Powerful kit produces more of it but you do see plenty of MATX and even MITX systems about now, but not slimline. The size of the graphics card would stop that anyway.

    On a small volume case, like the Cooler Master Elite 110, http://tinyurl.com/kdxhooz I would use a Liquid CPU Cooler such as this http://tinyurl.com/y8p6fv7j Even modest cases can deal with radiators these days, e.g. 110 has a mount for a 120mm one at the front. For £40 the Fractal Design Core 1300 Micro ATX Case can support two and longer graphics cards. TBH an MATX case would probably be fine with some decent intake / exhaust fans and a beefed up CPU cooler.

    0
    0
    #12082

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    A larger SSD would help your system in general but won’t do much for UEBS. UEBS looks like it’s quite a system hog. Apparently each figure has it’s own shadow rendered! I would go with the recommended specs here http://tinyurl.com/yaflnn9a which is a top end i5 or Ryzen 100X. Both are £210+ and the graphics card would be the same price. Yiu can’t do this one on the cheap. It’s the old enemy – heat. Powerful kit produces more of it but you do see plenty of MATX and even MITX systems about now, but not slimline. The size of the graphics card would stop that anyway. On a small volume case, like the Cooler Master Elite 110, http://tinyurl.com/kdxhooz I would use a Liquid CPU Cooler such as this http://tinyurl.com/y8p6fv7j Even modest cases can deal with radiators these days, e.g. 110 has a mount for a 120mm one at the front. For £40 the Fractal Design Core 1300 Micro ATX Case can support two and longer graphics cards. TBH an MATX case would probably be fine with some decent intake / exhaust fans and a beefed up CPU cooler.

    Cheers dave.

    I’ve been out of the pc game for a while now, only dipping my toe in every now and then. With some of your suggestions  above in mind and without spending too much, any suggestions for a full build?

    I can re use some bits I have such as- hdd as data drive, optical drives, fans, possibly my corsair psu but it’s getting on a bit.

    I think the main new bits would be mono, cpu, gpu, ram, ssd, case and poss the psu

    Cheers mate

    0
    0
    #12083

    Ed P
    Participant
    @edps
    Forumite Coins: 1,099

    “I think the main new bits would be mono, cpu, gpu, ram, ssd, case and poss the ps”

    You missed out all the upgraded peripherals you will need to go with your new mobo. viz. USB-C to USB-3 hub  and USB-C to HDMI monitor adapters!😋

    Of course if you don’t like using adapters the list of new kit gets even longer.

    • This reply was modified 8 months, 3 weeks ago by Ed P.
    0
    0
    #12085

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    Ive got some buy in from the wife as she said my sons will be using it for school now they will be doing senior school work.

    So I may be able to push the budget to maybe £700 I think that may mean a laptop could fit in the budget if it ticked the boxes I wanted.  Be good if it was a 17inch one if I were to go that route.

    Of course I’m open to a desktop/tower again but prefer a smaller one than I currently have.

    0
    0
    #12089

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    I would be looking at something like this (E-Buyer):

    ASRock AMD Ryzen AB350M Pro4 AM4 mATX Motherboard 780508 £72.98
    AMD Ryzen 5 1600X 6 Core AM4 CPU/Processor 784314 £209.98
    Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 8 GB DDR4 2400MHz Desktop Memory BLS2C4G4D240FSC 736868 £74.99
    WD Blue 250GB 2.5-inch Internal SSD 761161 £78.98
    Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 WindForce OC 3GB Graphics Card 756319 £198.95
    Corsair VS Series 450 Watt Power Supply 726366 £38.92
    Antec GX-200 USB3 Black Interior Vented Fascia Midi Gaming Case – No Window 706782 £34.40
    Total £709.20

    And £20 for W10 Pro and Office 2016 Pro keys from E-Bay (I buy loads of them, no problems yet).

    An i5-7600K and B250M motherboard based system would cost about the same. Ryzen or i5? Take your pick 😀

    None of this is a recommendation, just somewhere to start researching.

    0
    0
    #12100

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    I would be looking at something like this (E-Buyer): ASRock AMD Ryzen AB350M Pro4 AM4 mATX Motherboard 780508 £72.98 AMD Ryzen 5 1600X 6 Core AM4 CPU/Processor 784314 £209.98 Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 8 GB DDR4 2400MHz Desktop Memory BLS2C4G4D240FSC 736868 £74.99 WD Blue 250GB 2.5-inch Internal SSD 761161 £78.98 Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 WindForce OC 3GB Graphics Card 756319 £198.95 Corsair VS Series 450 Watt Power Supply 726366 £38.92 Antec GX-200 USB3 Black Interior Vented Fascia Midi Gaming Case – No Window 706782 £34.40 Total £709.20 And £20 for W10 Pro and Office 2016 Pro keys from E-Bay (I buy loads of them, no problems yet). An i5-7600K and B250M motherboard based system would cost about the same. Ryzen or i5? Take your pick 😀 None of this is a recommendation, just somewhere to start researching.

    hey dave, thanks for the continued help.

    just a few things. i see the ram can be bought in a single 8gb stick and it is actually a few pounds cheaper. i could then install another 8gb at a later date when funds allow. would you agree this would be a good idea or is there a benefit of the 2 x 4gb?

    you havent suggested a cooler for the cpu. any thoughts on that?

    any smaller cases that would work?

    my existing monitor, liyama prolite e2208hds,  doesnt need replacing unless i have to. it has a dvi-d connection. i presume this will still connect to the new mobo you have mentioned above?

    with roughly this budget, any laptop suggestions that would be close to the above specs?

    cheers mate.

    • This reply was modified 8 months, 3 weeks ago by Marc Berry.
    0
    0
    #12102

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    Your plan for the ram should work.

    Now this is why I said do some research, turns out the Ryzen 1600x doesn’t come with a HSF. I assume because they think you’re going to be overclocking it. All the reviews I see use expensive liquid coolers. It looks like the same is true for the i5-7600K. I think that would be enough to push me away from the overclockable CPUs and go for the i5-7600 or the non-X Ryzen 1600. The stock coolers would be enough to see how you get on when the CPU is pushed. If it was too noisy too often you could use a much more modest air or liquid cooler. My own i5 never gets noisy.

    The graphics card has 2 x DVI-D so the monitor will be OK.

    Sorry, yes you can get smaller cases.

    Fractal Design Core 1300 http://tinyurl.com/ycleb9rh or Fractal Design Core 1500 http://tinyurl.com/ycdgvgh6 are reasonably priced and sensibly laid out with radiator support if necessary.

    0
    0
    #12109

    The Duke
    Moderator
    @sgb101
    Forumite Coins: 1,128

    I’d drop the x, I was looking a while ago at ryzen and I don’t think the x offers much the non x on

    .

    0
    0
    #12115

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    Your plan for the ram should work. Now this is why I said do some research, turns out the Ryzen 1600x doesn’t come with a HSF. I assume because they think you’re going to be overclocking it. All the reviews I see use expensive liquid coolers. It looks like the same is true for the i5-7600K. I think that would be enough to push me away from the overclockable CPUs and go for the i5-7600 or the non-X Ryzen 1600. The stock coolers would be enough to see how you get on when the CPU is pushed. If it was too noisy too often you could use a much more modest air or liquid cooler. My own i5 never gets noisy. The graphics card has 2 x DVI-D so the monitor will be OK. Sorry, yes you can get smaller cases. Fractal Design Core 1300 http://tinyurl.com/ycleb9rh or Fractal Design Core 1500 http://tinyurl.com/ycdgvgh6 are reasonably priced and sensibly laid out with radiator support if necessary.

    Cheers guys.

    I’ll take a look at the cases dave.

    I agree I think I’ll drop to the ryzen 1600. I think I’d prefer to use a slightly better cooler than stock unless you think I definitely don’t need one. In which case I realise the smaller case may effect the size I get. Any suggestions?

    Cheers

    0
    0
    #12121

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    I really don’t think you’ll need a different one, see this article “AMD Wraith Max and Wraith Spire Coolers Review: Stock Cooling Just Got A Whole Lot Better” http://tinyurl.com/nxgac8q

    Overall, the Wraith Max and Wraith Spire are perfect for someone who does not plan on overclocking. Both coolers are more than capable of providing excellent cooling capabilities…. AMD certainly deserves a round of applause for bundling their Ryzen processors with fantastic stock coolers.

    EDIT – another case. I’ve used this one a few times Thermaltake Versa H15 £38 http://tinyurl.com/yak6zzlz

    • This reply was modified 8 months, 3 weeks ago by Dave Rice.
    0
    0
    #12142

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    cheers again.

    so i have decided on the first case suggested, antec gx-200,  as it is narrower than the others so more leg room.

    decided on the single 8gb stick as it is cheaper and allows me to add a second 8gb stick easily down the line.

    going with the ryzen 1600, no ‘x’, and will use the stock cooler as suggested.

    happy with most of the rest but i wonder, with a bit of a saving made, is there any reason to look to spend a little more on the motherboard and/or psu or will they be good enough with the suggested options?

    is it possible to transfer the windows 10 licence to the new pc?

    marc

     

    0
    0
    #12146

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    I use that PSU all the time. 450 watt is more than enough for the graphics card.

    As for the AB350M Pro4 motherboard, it’s should have all you need and the B350 is the mainstream chipset. You would only want the X370 if you wanted to go totally nuts with overclocking and multiple graphics cards in SLI / Crossfire. But yes, have a look at them all and see if any have any  extra bells and whistles.

    Have a look at the table here https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350M%20Pro4/index.asp#Specification  that shows what combination of type of ram chip (single or dual rank) and at what speed you can have. Make sure your plan for the 8GB then 8GB later will work. If it is a problem, as it has 4 slots you could always do 2 x 4GB now and add 2 x 4GB later.

    Windows 10 licences can’t be transferred. Get one off E-Bay, I do all the time and no problems at all. Same for Office 2016.

    0
    0
    #12149

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    I use that PSU all the time. 450 watt is more than enough for the graphics card. As for the AB350M Pro4 motherboard, it’s should have all you need and the B350 is the mainstream chipset. You would only want the X370 if you wanted to go totally nuts with overclocking and multiple graphics cards in SLI / Crossfire. But yes, have a look at them all and see if any have any extra bells and whistles. Have a look at the table here https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350M%20Pro4/index.asp#Specification that shows what combination of type of ram chip (single or dual rank) and at what speed you can have. Make sure your plan for the 8GB then 8GB later will work. If it is a problem, as it has 4 slots you could always do 2 x 4GB now and add 2 x 4GB later. Windows 10 licences can’t be transferred. Get one off E-Bay, I do all the time and no problems at all. Same for Office 2016.

    if i am reading that table correctly, if i have 2400 ram i have to either chose to only use a2 and b2 thus 2 sticks max if i want to run dual channel. i can add 4 sticks of the 2400 but it would run in single channel.

    so, i most likely will only have 2 sticks in there so that wouldnt be an issue but if i decided to add a further 2 way down the line, what is the downside of being single?

    or, do i go for 1866-2133 ram to allow 4 sticks of dual channel?

    0
    0
    #12151

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    for some reason there is no Edit option on my posts now so…

    i got dual channel mixed up with dual rank. still not sure what benefit dual rank has over single however, i found an article that says that although to use 2400 dual rank it should only work on 2 slots, they found they could use all 4 slots with dual rank 2666. see page 5 of the article here – http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-ryzen-single-rank-versus-dual-rank-ddr4-memory-performance_192960/5

    i presume this wouldnt be all mobos and all ram so this probably gives me more uncertainty than i had before reading it

    0
    0
    #12152

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    Yeah, this is all about what the OP called “willy waving” performance. I’d be gob smacked if you could tell the difference between 1866 Mhz and 3200 Mhz when sat in front of the PC 😀

    What does seem important is not to mix single rank and dual rank. So looking at the table on the ASR site put your single stick in slot A2, doesn’t matter if its SR or DR it’ll go at full speed. When you get the second stick make sure it’s the same SR or DR and put it in slot B2 and it’ll still go at full speed. So I’d say your plan is just fine.

    If you wanted more you have to go from 2 to 4 slots (no 3) and if they were DR they’d “only” run at a max of 2133. Just not worth worrying about.

    0
    0
    #12156

    Marc Berry
    Participant
    @marc-knuckle
    Forumite Coins: 66

    Yeah, this is all about what the OP called “willy waving” performance. I’d be gob smacked if you could tell the difference between 1866 Mhz and 3200 Mhz when sat in front of the PC 😀 What does seem important is not to mix single rank and dual rank. So looking at the table on the ASR site put your single stick in slot A2, doesn’t matter if its SR or DR it’ll go at full speed. When you get the second stick make sure it’s the same SR or DR and put it in slot B2 and it’ll still go at full speed. So I’d say your plan is just fine. If you wanted more you have to go from 2 to 4 slots (no 3) and if they were DR they’d “only” run at a max of 2133. Just not worth worrying about.

    Cheers dave, I am nearly there.

    Last night I turned my attention to 2 things.

    1) that psu is marked down in some reviews for being loud. Any other suggestions?

    2) I started to review prices for the items and can see amazon is cheaper for some. So after work I will post links if you could check them as some seem to be slightly different and I wouldn’t want to get the wrong items.

    Cheers

    0
    0
    #12157

    Dave Rice
    Moderator
    @ricedg
    Forumite Coins: 724

    I have never thought of that PSU as loud, quite the opposite. I used one in a new build last week.

    I haven’t actually come across a loud PSU for years (but I don’t buy the bargain basement stuff).

    The CX Series CX450 450 Watt 80 PLUS is advertised as low noise http://tinyurl.com/y9ot4p7d it’s only a fiver more.

    0
    0
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 42 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.